SADC Secretariat announces the winners of the 2022 SADC Media Awards and Secondary School Essay Competition

SADC Secretariat announced the winners of the 2022 SADC Media Awards and Secondary School Essay Competition during the officially opening ceremony of the 42nd Ordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government which took place on 17th August 2022 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo. The aim of the SADC Media Awards and Secondary School Essay Competition is to recognise excellence in journalism and scholars in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region which promote and deepen SADC regional integration.

In the 2022 SADC Media Awards, after a selection by adjudicators at National level, 23 journalists qualified for the regional competition. There were four categories in the SADC Media Awards, Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism categories.

For the second prize of USD 1000, the following were the winners in each of the media categories.

Mr. Jaquelino Figueiredo from the Republic of Angola,  is the second prize winner in the print journalism category

Mr. Henry Haukeya, from the Republic of Malawi, receives second prize in the television journalism category.

In the radio journalism category, Ms. Fátima Cossa from the Republic of Mozambique, is the second prize winner.

Mr. Gaseitsewe Moruakgomo from the Republic of Botswana, receives the second prize, in the Photojournalism category

The following are the overall winners who will each receive USD2, 500 in each of the four categories.

In the Print Journalism category, the overall winner is Mr. Prosper Ndlovu from the Republic of Zimbabwe

Mr.  Cândido Calombe from the Republic of Angola is the overall winner in the Television Journalismcategory

In the Radio Journalism category, the overall winner is Mr. Aristides Kito from the Republic of Angola.

Mr. Sandile Ndlovu from the Republic of South Africa is the overall winner in the photo Journalism category.

In the 2022 Secondary School Essay Competition, learners from the SADC Member States were given a topic on which to write an essay of 1200 words. The topic for the 2022 SADC Essay Competition was; How can SADC boost productive capacities in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic?”

The three regional winners of the 2022 Secondary School Essay Competition are as follows;

  • The 3rd prize of US$750 goes to Riddi Moneeram from the Republic of Mauritius.
  • The 2nd prize of US$1000 goes to Bucha Tikshta from the Republic of Mauritius.
  • Thato Molongoana from the Kingdom of Lesotho is the overall winner of the 2022 SADC Secondary School Essay Competition and she receives a prize of US$1500.

The SADC secretariat congratulates all the winners for winning the 2022 SADC Media Awards and Secondary School Essay Competition as further appreciated their contribution in promoting and deepening regional integration, cooperation and development.