By Tendai Guvamombe

Stakeholders and various players in the tourism sector, on Thursday 19th of May 2022 witnessed the unveiling of the Twalumba National Travel and Tourism Awards Trophy. This ahead of a colourful award ceremony to be held in December 2022.

The unveiling ceremony took place at Monomotapa Hotel before various stakeholders in the tourism sector.

Standing in for the Guest of Honour, Minister of Environment Climate Tourism and Hospitality Industry Mr Mangaliso N. Ndhlovu,  The Permanent Secretary Mr Munesu Munodawafa presided over the unveiling of the trophy.

Speaking during the unveiling ceremony, Mr Munodawafa said the awards are meant to celebrate those who excelled well in the tourism sector. He added that this is part of the efforts by the Ministry responsible for tourism to enhance tourism growth at national level.

“Twalumba Travel and Tourism Awards are the brain child of Zimbabwe Tourism Authority(ZTA) and Tourism Business Council of Zimbabwe(TBCZ) meant to celebrate those who excelled well in the tourism sector. The objectives are to recognize operational excellence, tourism growth and the individual contribution to the well-being of tourism in Zimbabwe. Let’s work together towards unique and extra ordinary experience that others cannot replicate.”

Zimbabwe Tourism Authority(ZTA) Acting Chief Executive, Givemore Chidzidzi highlighted that the awards should have been conducted last year but was hindered by the COVID-19 situation leading to the postponement.

“We used to have the awards some years back and we thought we need to do them again. After launching the awards we could not conduct them  because of the  COVID-19 situation which hindered us. As ZTA we are working together with Tourism Business Council of Zimbabwe(TBCZ). We are glad to see the recognition of those who have done exceptionally well in the tourism sector.”

According to Tourism Business Council of Zimbabwe(TBCZ) Chief Executive Paul Matamisa, the awards will be held on the 3rd of December 2022 and will present the opportunity to showcase them at national level.

“We have in the past conducted the awards in the different parts but realized that we need to put our hands together to conduct the awards together at National level. They are going to be held on the 3rd of December this year.”

Meanwhile, the organisers are yet to finalize on the selection of judges as they will be considering at personalities with strong travel and tourism background.

The national awards comes in 31 categories reflecting various sectors and activities in the tourism sector.

Some of the awards include the following:

Best Cultural Tourism
Best Human Resources Development
Best Public Sector Contribution
Best Lifetime achievement
Best Car Rental Operator of the Year
Best Eco-Tourism Facility of the Year
Best Event of the year